http://www.penciltalk.org

29 Oct

Coloured pencils, old and new, nicely sharpened by "Mummy"

We need more of this – people who take seriously the way a pencil point does or doesn’t crumble, the way chalk, felt-tip or pastel lays down on a leaf of Fabriano paper: “The tooth of the paper loves these media.”  If you are a stationery fetishist then this seems as good a place to go as any. The comments are as serious as they should be.
http://www.penciltalk.org
I have a question: where have all the soft backed thick moleskine journals gone – the ones that would bend and thicken and near break as I filled them with my cuttings and stickings and fervid scribblings. [Is fervid a word?]
I have another question: Why are there no Lakeland coloured pencils anymore? The ones I had as a child are sharpened down to nothing in my 5-year-old’s bulging zippered pencil case. [Just checked on eBay and there are, but not as good at they used to be, naturally. Bidding on circa 1970s Rowney Victoria tinned coloured pencils. Hope I get – it’s the set I had as a kid. How many people on eBay reconstituting their childhoods?]
I have an apology from my 7-year-old self to the one-time owners of Kaydee in Clitheroe for all the hours I lurked fingering pencils and rubbers and empty notebooks that I didn’t buy.
I have made up for it since. I like Cowling and Wilcox in Soho best. Or any art supplies shop in Italy, any day of the week.

3 Responses to “http://www.penciltalk.org”

  1. Cowling and Wilcox December 9, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    We’re glad that you’re impressed by how seriously we take our art supplies! We really do go for an emphasis on quality and we really appreciate when people recognise that 🙂

    Also, yes, fervid is a word. It can mean you’re intensely passionate about something.

    As a little thank you for blogging about us at Cowling and Wilcox here’s a little thank you.

    10% off at cowlingandwilcox.com

    code: th4nkyou

    I hope it’s of some use to you!

    • catherinefraher December 9, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Wow. Wonderful. My favourite shop in London. Will enjoy using that 10% off. Cheers and a very Happy Christmas to you all.

      • Cowling and Wilcox December 14, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

        Merry Christmas to you too! We’ll look forward to your next posts! 🙂

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

