Sign painters: Take Courage!

31 Dec

This is one of my favourite London landmarks, visible from the trains running into Charing Cross through Waterloo East and London Bridge and to the walker leaving Borough Market for a leisurely flan along the South Bank. Take Courage. I know it’s just old beer but it galvanises me each time I see it.
There’s a sign painter movie in development by Faythe Levine and Sam Macon in the States: http://signpaintermovie.blogspot.com/
More power to them in their herculanean endeavour.
I trust someone is preserving our fading painted signs with similar fervour. Since I started looking up I see them everywhere.

PS: Just found this archive of UK ‘ghostsigns’ c/o the History of Advertising Trust http://www.ghostsigns.co.uk

Please leave a comment. Thank you.

